Discover 80 GHz

The future is 80 GHz

A new generation of radar level sensors

Level measurement with radar – a success story

The use of radar has revolutionized level measurement technology. For almost 25 years now, VEGA has been setting milestones over and over again in this field. Today, over 550,000 radar sensors from VEGA are working reliably in diverse level applications worldwide.

Back in 1991 VEGA introduced the first production-ready radar level gauge. A few years later, shortly before the beginning of the 21st century, there was one word buzzing around among industry experts: eric®. That was the name of the first two-wire radar instrument in the world, which VEGA launched on the market in 1997. Within a very short time eric® propelled the company to the top of the world market. In 2004, VEGA succeeded in boosting the sensitivity of radar sensors a thousandfold. VEGAPULS 68 thus became the first radar sensor that was really prepared for the extremely difficult process conditions in the bulk solids industry.

 

With 80 GHz into the future!

In 2014, a new radar sensor for continuous measurement of bulk solids, VEGAPULS 69, was introduced with great success. The higher transmitting frequency of 80 GHz allows considerably better focusing of the emitted signal. In containers and silos with many internal installations, the good focusing helps reduce the influence of microwave noise. VEGAPULS 64, the world's first 80-GHz radar level sensor for liquids, has ushered in a radically new era in radar measurement technology.

Mit 80 GHz in die Zukunft

Die neue Generation in der Radar-Füllstandmessung

Füllstandmessung mit Radar – eine Erfolgsgeschichte

Der Einsatz von Radar hat die Füllstandmesstechnik revolutioniert. Seit fast 25 Jahren setzt VEGA immer wieder Meilensteine. Heute arbeiten weltweit über 550.000 Radarsensoren von VEGA zuverlässig in vielfältigen Füllstandanwendungen.

Bereits 1991 stellte VEGA das erste serienreife Radarfüllstandmessgerät vor. Kurz vor Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts war in der Fachwelt ein Name in aller Munde: eric®. So hieß das erste Zweileiter-Radargerät der Welt, das VEGA 1997 auf den Markt brachte. eric® brachte das Unternehmen innerhalb kürzester Zeit an die Spitze des Weltmarktes. 2004 gelang es, die Empfindlichkeit der Radarsensoren um das Tausendfache zu erhöhen. Der VEGAPULS 68 war damit der erste Radarsensor, der für die äußerst schwierigen Prozessbedingungen in der Schüttgutindustrie gewappnet war.

 

Mit 80 GHz in die Zukunft!

2014 wurde der VEGAPULS 69, ein Radarsensor zur kontinuierlichen Messung von Schüttgütern, mit großem Erfolg eingeführt. Die höhere Sendefrequenz von 80 GHz ermöglicht eine deutlich bessere Fokussierung des Sendesignals. In Behältern und Silos mit vielen Einbauten, hilft die gute Fokussierung, den Einfluss von Störsignalen deutlich zu reduzieren. Mit Einführung des neuen VEGAPULS 64, dem weltweit ersten Radarfüllstandsensor für Flüssigkeiten mit 80 GHz, ist nun endgültig eine neue Ära in der Radarmesstechnik angebrochen.